25 days until the start: growing starting grid

It is just four weeks before the start of the anniversary season of the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup but the starting grid is still growing. It is an interesting mix of experienced drivers and success-hungry newcomers.


While last year’s champion Ben Barnicoat moved to the Eurocup, the runner-up Louis Delétraz remains in the FR2.0 NEC with his team Josef Kaufmann Racing. Back with this team is also Kevin Jörg. The Swiss raced in six races in 2014 and won two of them. This year he contests the full season. The third Josef Kaufmann Racing driver Nikita Mazepin is also confirmed. The 16-year-old Russian is the 2014 Kart World Championship runner-up.


Fortec Motorsports takes part with six cars. The team of Richard Dutton welcomes Callan O’Keeffe. The South African brings two years of experience in the Formula Renault car. Force India Junior Jehan Daruvala from India and Ferdinand Habsburg from Austria join the Fortec team this year as well. The Austrian was fourth overall in the 2014 Formula Renault 1.6. Furthermore two Canadians join Fortec Motorsports. Zachary Claman De Melo comes directly from the karting. Luke Chudleigh, however, brings experience from the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and the ALPS Championship.


The Spanish AVF team brings back the Dutchman Roy Geert, the 2013 Champion of the Formula Renault 1.6, and the Czech Josef Zaruba. In addition the team looks after the karter Henrique Chaves from Portugal.


The Swedish team Prizma Motorsport operated until last year under the name Trackstar Racing. After a stint in the Formula Renault 1.6 the team of Åke Jansson returns to the FR 2.0 NEC. With the team is the Swede Pontus Fredriksson who comes from the Scandinavian Formula Renault 1.6. The second driver for some races this year is an old acquaintance of the NEC; Kevin Kleveros. His first race in the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC was in 2008 and his last in 2013.


The Swede Robin Hansson is back for his second season, together with the team Fragus BR Motorsports.


New this year in the FR2.0 NEC is the Polish team of BM Motorsport with driver Bartlomiej Mirecki. After karting, he won the Kia Cup in 2012 and 2013. This is Barlomiej’s first season in a single seater car.


Also new this year is Strakka Racing (England) with kart star Charlie Eastwood from Northern Ireland. The team of Nick Leventis also starts in the Formula Renault 3.5 and FIA WEC.


Manor MP Motorsport will join the NEC in Monza, Silverstone and at Assen with the Norwegian driver Dennis Olsen and Danish driver Lasse Sørensen. Lasse is the brother of the GP2 race winner Marco Sørensen. The Dane won last year the French Formula Renault 1.6.


Official testdays are 24 and 25 March at Hockenheim and 27 and 28 at Assen.