Lando Norris cruises to Formula Renault 2.0 NEC Championship win

Lando Norris (Josef Kaufmann Racing) is the youngest ever champion in the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup. The 16-year-old Briton already sealed the championship win with a solid fourth place in the second of the three finale races at the Hockenheimring. Max Defourny (R-ace GP) became runner-up ahead of Dorian Boccolacci (Tech 1 Racing). The race victories went to Robert Shwartzman (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and James Allen (JD Motorsport).

In the second race of the weekend, run in dry and sunny conditions, Robert Shwartzman took a clean start and led Max Defourny to claim his second career victory. Starting from third, Lando Norris chose a careful approach and let Hugo de Sadeleer and Sacha Fenestraz (both Tech 1 Racing) pass. Swiss de Sadeleer lost out to teammate Fenestraz, who joined the podium in third, and by Norris, who concentrated on his points to take the championship.

With a slightly different looking grid for race three it was James Allen who dived into the first corner and never looked back to take his maiden Formula Renault 2.0 victory. Behind him, Bartłomiej Mirecki (BM Racing Team), the revelation of the weekend, did his best to fend off Max Defourny and a charging Lando Norris. But when the safety car came out for the beached car of Will Palmer, the young Polish driver had to settle for fourth. Dorian Boccolacci managed to keep in front of Jehan Daruvula to claim the third place in the championship.